California Marriage License
In most circumstances you may apply for a marriage license at any CA county
clerk office where you plan to be married. These offices are usually located in the
county probate court or circuit court. This document outlines the
must follow to obtain your license.
Cost of License
What is the cost of a marriage license?
The marriage license fee is $50.00 to $80.00 dollars. |
forms of payment are cash.
What are the residency requirements for California?
None. You do not have to be a previous or current resident of California
to obtain a marriage license that is valid statewide.
Is there a waiting period from the application date
to the date the license is issued?
No, you will receive your license immediately.
Is there a waiting period from the date the license is issued
to the date I am allowed to marry?
No, you can marry immediately after receiving your license.
What is the minimum age a man or
woman may marry?
You must be 18 years old or older to marry without parental consent.
A birth certificate may be necessary to show proof of age.
What if one or both of us is younger than 18?
If either partner is under 18, one parent or legal guardian must be present.
If a parent cannot be present, due to death, separation, divorce or other
circumstances, proper evidence
must be presented for verification. You will need
a certified copy of your birth certificate.
The couple must schedule an appointment
with a counselor and then appear
before a superior court judge.
Blood Tests and Physical Exams
Are blood tests and physical exams required?
No blood test or physical exam is required.
How long does a marriage license remain valid
once it's been issued?
Your license will expire 90 days from the date it is issued.
Divorced and Widowed Applicants
What if one or both partners have been
divorced or have had a spouse die?
If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse's death must be
provided. If the divorce or spouse's death had taken place within the last 90 days,
bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate. A copy of your
divorce records or spouse's death certificate can be ordered online.
Are proxy marriages legal?
Yes, marriage by proxy is allowed. Bill SB 7 was sponsored by Republican
Sen. Jim Brulte of Rancho Cucamonga and Senate President Pro Tem John
D-San Francisco and signed into law by
Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
on September 10, 2004.
Are cousin marriages legal?
Yes, cousin marriages are allowed.